Rugby Daily News

World Rugby HK Sevens on 5-7 April 2019

Hong Kong Rugby Union (HKRU) held the official draw for the 44th annual Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens (5-7 April) and HSBC World Rugby Men’s and Women’s Sevens Series Qualifiers 2019 tonight at Hysan Place in Hong Kong.

Participating guests officiating tonight’s draws were Mr KS Wong, Secretary for the Environment for the Hong Kong Government; Mr Kevin Martin, Regional Head of Wealth Management ASP, HSBC; Mr Simon Large, Director Customer of Cathay Pacific Airways; and Ms Irene Lee, Chairman of Hysan Development. Mr Pieter Schats, Mr Peter Duncan and Ms Kim Boreham, Chairman, President and Board Member of the HKRU respectively, also officiated the proceedings.

Three draws were held, including that for the Sevens – the seventh of ten events on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series. That tournament will feature the 15 Series teams plus Portugal, World Rugby’s nominated 16th team.

The three tournaments see 40 international sides contesting their respective competitions in front of an expected 120,000-strong cumulative crowd at the 2019 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, rugby’s ultimate bucket list event.

With 40 participating teams across both men and women, the Hong Kong Sevens is the largest tournament on the Series, affirming the event’s tagline as the event where the World Comes to Play. The 40 teams mark the world’s largest gathering of international rugby unions in a single venue in 2019.

The Hong Kong Sevens will take place between April 5-7.

Hong Kong Sevens draw:

Pool A: South Africa, Samoa, Scotland, Japan

Pool B: France, Argentina, Canada, Portugal

Pool C: Fiji, New Zealand, Australia, Kenya

Pool D: USA, England, Wales, Spain

Exit mobile version