Rugby Daily News

Super Rugby Pacific 2022 Game: When does it start, how to watch

The Super Rugby will begin a new Pacific competition in 2022, which includes teams from New Zealand, Australia and Pacific Island nations. There will no longer be any Argentine, Japanese, and South African teams in the updated format.

This new tournament style comes after the COVID-affected Super Rugby AU 2020 and the Super Rugby Trans-Tasman series in 2021.

Watch the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season on Stan Sport, ad-free, live and on demand. Start your seven day free trial here!

When does Super Rugby Pacific 2022 start?

The Super Rugby competition will begin on February 18 2022, with the regular season to finish May 29 2022.

The final will be played on June 18 2022.

Who are the teams in Super Rugby Pacific 2022?

Twelve teams are taking part in the new competition, with all sides put in one pool, rather than split into different geographic conferences.

The clubs for 2022 are:

Moana Pasifika and the Fijian Drua are the tournament’s two latest additions.

The Fijian Drua has previously competed in Australia’s National Rugby Championship, where they won the title in 2018.

Moana Pasifika is an entirely new franchise and has signed a number of players from local Samoa, Tonga and other Pacific Islands.

They will play their home fixtures primarily in New Zealand, with Fiji Rugby Union to announce where Fijian Drua home matches will be held shortly.

Exit mobile version