Rugby Daily News

Crusaders win 10th super rugby title

The Crusaders won their tenth Super rugby title by beating the Jaguares 19-3 at their home ground Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch.

Crusaders Super rugby head coach Scott Robinson has now been in charge for three seasons and has won every year has been in charge so has achieved a “threepeat”.

The Crusaders beat the Lions in 2017 (17-25) and 2018 (37-18) Super rugby finals.

This is the second time that the Crusaders have won three titles in a row as they also achieved the feat in 1998 Auckland (Blues), 1999 Dunedin (Highlanders) & 2000 Canberra (Brumbies).

The Crusaders were playing in their 14th Super rugby final while the Jaguares were playing in their first ever final.

The Jaguares had more of the ball 55% and more of the territory 57% in the match but it was the Crusaders who used their opportunities better.

Codie Taylor scored the only try of the match while Richie Mo’unga scored 14 points through four penalties and a conversion. The Jaguares only points came from a penalty.

Throughout the match, the Crusaders conceded four penalties and the Jaguares conceded 8 and four of those ended in points for the Crusaders through Mo’unga’s kicking boot.

The Crusaders are all round and deserved champions.

Final Score Crusaders 19 (10) Jaguares 3 (3)


Tries – C.Taylor
Pen – R.Mo’unga 4
Con – R.Mo’unga
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – J.Diaz Bonilla
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Exit mobile version